1st SCROG Questions

still_buzz'n

Dab Banger
Okay a couple of questions since I've never done this before. I have never done a scrog, but we want to on our next run. We have a 6'x7' room and use 5 gal square pots. We have never done a scrog so this will be our first run at it, but I've grown just normal indoors for almost 20 years.

1 - When training branches into the different squares, do you top your plants to keep an even canopy or how do you keep the top from stretching higher than the rest of the branches?

2 - If you do top, at what point? I normally start under led shop lights for 2-3 weeks from seed before putting into final 5 gallon square pot then under the MH for veg 2-3 weeks before flipping to 12/12 with the HPS. I have a 1000w MH/HPS dimmable digital ballast. 1000-750-500

I really want to do this right, so once this harvest is over in 5-6 weeks, the nxt batch will be almost ready to put into the 5 gallon pots. We will have Blue Cheese and Chemdawg. Thanks and please dont think I'm a dumbass. Just never tried a scrog before and trying to get as much as possible.

edit:
Once you have the branches trained, do you keep all of the undergrowth (leaves and smaller popcorn buds) cleaned up so more growth goes to the buds up in the netting??

*I will update and ask questions with pics as we go along. I'll be germinating 1st week of March.

#1: keep tucking the newer growth into new holes in your net. Watch the branches go vertical. Depending on how long you have, those also may get tucked. If you veg. long, or have a sativa that stretches quickly you will do some weaving.