Optimum Height for scrog screen?

Clicker

Dazed and Confused
I am currently building some milk crate grow tuns with a removable built in scrog screen. The posts will be permanent and the screen on top removable. So my posts need to be a set height. What would be the best height above the medium?? 18" 2 feet?

Peace

Click

I'm pretty new at it myself, doing my second run now but I did a ton of research on the technique before building mine. I veg in 1 gallon bags and try and get them to 18"-24" with 4 main shoots and then transplant into 3 gallon pots and put them under the screen. So with my setup my screen is 28" above the floor or 18" above the pot. I then veg for an other 2 weeks and as the main shoots come up I LST or Super crop them as the come above the screen keeping them under it. Once I flip 12/12 I keep the main shoots attached to the screen with bread bag ties while allowing the secondary shoots to catch up.

It all boils down to how tall are you going to grow them before you put them under the screen and how long are you going to veg them once they are under. I also basically cut all branching off up too 3 nodes below the top growth tip also...nothing below that is going to get any light anyways by the time they are done.

My first time came out all right but I fk'd up and didn't control things well enough during the stretch. I predict a 100% improvement this time around.

Good luck