LED for veg

Freakshow

ok, i'm looking for an LED light fixture o replace my 1000 watt MH in veg. It just gets way too hot in the veg rom during summer. Any suggestions for a quality light? I need to veg up to 9 plants under it, big plants.

needs t have full spectrum, including ir and uV

Last edited:
I can't recommend a brand because my lights (Nextlight Megas) are three years old and the tech has advanced considerably since I bought them.

But I would recommend this place, for both prices and service: https://www.ledgrowlightsdepot.com/

I’m happy with my HLG 4k spectrum (for veg) light. Never a problem, great results and runs very cool as most LEDs do

I'm no expert on LEDs but here is what I have been using and they both work very well:

I have 3 Spider farmer SF1000's, dimmable with Meanwell driver and Samsung diodes (about $159 ea.) https://www.amazon.com/Spider-Farmer-Dimmable-MeanWell-Spectrum/dp/B07TS82HWB

and 3 Bloomspect SS1000's, dimmable with the same Meanwell driver and same Samsung diodes (about $55.00 ea.)
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B087GF3DFH?psc=1&ref=ppx_yo2ov_dt_b_product_details

both are great lights and very similar in total brightness/output, the Bloomspect seems to be a little bit more white light than the Spider Farmer but are about 1/3 the price. The Spider farmer seems to be slightly higher quality construction but for the $$$ the Bloomspect is the bargain all day long

that's all I got man

Last edited:
i'm trying to find the one i have in veg now, an Apollo 8 full spectrum. Damn thing is a plant growing machine, full spectrum including ir and uV. I paid 300 for it from China and can't find it. Thing is ridiculous though. Thanks for the suggestions, folks. I'll probably end up having some customizations done to add uv and ir.

Just a general question about led's. Do they need replacement as often as the hid's or mh's?