Speed controller or Variac?

Slim Pickens

I Blue my mind.
I have a 6" Vortex fan and a speed controller.It bothers me a bit that when operating the fan through the speed controller I notice a distinct hum.The hum seems more pronounced as the speed is dialed down to slower cfm's.Maybe it's because at higher speed,the noise of the fan covers most of the hum.

Anyway,I have heard mention of Variacs over the last few years,and wonder if that might be a safer solution?My problem is that I am unsure of what to buy,as there are different configurations.I see some that are 500w which would be more than adequate for a fan drawing 72 watts,but on the other hand they are only rated to 6amps or so,and the fan specs say 6.68 amps. Here is a link to some of the Variac offerings on Ebay,if anyone cares to look.

https://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_fr...2.A0.H1.Xvariac.TRS1&_nkw=variac&_sacat=92074

I am at a loss as to what to consider...if anything.

Last edited:
I'm not an electrician, but a 72 watt fan that draws 6.68 amps doesn't make sense. Are you sure it's not 0.668 amps?

My old 1k HPSs drew 9.4 amps...

Any sparkies in the house?

Wouldn't that do the same thing to the fan? Since it's the fan humming I doubt it would change anything but I'm also not an electrician and never stayed at a Holiday inn express.

I have the same fan I believe and have tried a fan rheostat made for the inlines and a rheostat I use on my routers. Both left that hum so I went back to wide open.

Keep in mind the blower an filter should be matched...too big a blower an you're not gettin proper filtration, too small a blower an the filter could put unnecessary strain on the blower, an less than adequate circulation...same goes with alterin the speed. :2c:

Just tryin to keep the racket down and the cabinet from imploding from all the air trying to get pulled out. :)