Fermented BBQ sauce

rosso reefo

pizza mystro
I know what some of you are thinking, it's got alcohol in it but that's not the case..back in my 20s when I was an inspired young chef I had this musician from Alabama come in and he'd bring in his own BBQ sauce..the best I've ever had and I've had my share of BBQ sauces across the states from the east coast to the west..he wouldn't give me his recipe but he did mention that his secret was fermentation..
funny how something like that has stuck in brain over so many years..
looking at the over flow of tomatoes in my freezers I thought why not give it a try..
not much help on the internet so I thought I'd make a good ketchup from scratch, add basic BBQ sauce ingredients to it..let it cool down, add some brewers yeast, pour it all into a sterilized gallon jug and seal it off with a fermentation air lock for maybe a week or 2 and see what happens..
thinking it might not even need the yeast and that the sugars alone would ferment..
use to make my own beer so I'm not a stranger to fermentation but would love to get some thoughts from anyone about this crazy project I want to pursue..
it's going to take a lot of work and time and hope it turns out nothing like the store bought crap or shit they make in restaurants with Heinz ketchup or canned tomatoes..:chef:

I wouldn't have a clue...but the local library is hosting a fermentation class in a little more than a week.I could ask about that,and pass any relevant info on to you.

BTW:I used to enjoy a BBQ sandwich at little hamburger restaurant outside of Beaverton Or years ago.I LOVED that BBQ sauce,and like you...have never found it's match anywhere.

http://www.cookinggodsway.com/lacto-fermented-ketchup-bbq-sauce/

Making your own lacto-fermented condiments is quite easy, so why not enjoy the wonderful health benefits that come with lacto-fermentation?