DIY Automation Systems - Automate or stay late!

Umamiseedco

I must have hit my head, because I decided that I was going to learn how to code and build my own system. I threw away all my old trolmaster, atlas and other controllers and sensors and now my whole system runs off a raspberry pi with a mix of wifi, bluetooth, and zigbee sensors and smart plugs. Feel free to follow along and get out from under the expensive and limited systems currently out there.

I've been in the vein of doing something like this soon myself! Just need the time and energy and a test garden to do it. 😜

Looking forward to seeing how it runs for you!
I've been running the system for about 18 months now. True full automation with auto fertigation, lights, fans, the works. Similar to the Pinnacle system if you follow him on IG. I will try to take a bunch of pics and dig up old photos so you can see the progression.

I have done a very similar thing but I mostly use nodered so I didn't have to learn much code at all. It's really amazing the power we have at our finger tips now. I recently actually converted my system to use off the shelf smart switches which has made expanding mine very easy.

So, I went down the rabbit hole after first watching a few videos from LEDGardener on youtube a couple years ago. I watched the whole series on his garden build and have modeled my setup in a similar fashion. I am running my whole system on a Raspberry Pi 4 with an OS called Home Assistant. This software allows for you to integrate so many different sensors, smart devices, plugs and use them to their full potential with endless customization. I started this project with zero coding knowledge or understanding, and I still have no clue what I am doing, but with the invention of chatgpt4 and google it is very possible for pretty much anyone to build a similar system that rivals Aroya, Grow Link, Trolmaster etc.

20220528_144116.jpg